Project
KAUST Shaheen III HPC
KAUST Shaheen III HPC: AI and data centres, Operational, in Makkah.
What the source says
KAUST Shaheen III HPC
Research HPC system, a different category from commercial AI capacity. The earlier 8 MW value and capital allocation have not been independently re-verified and are excluded from capacity figures. Reviewed against operator and partner primary releases, 12 September 2026.
Source: Saudi Data Centre Load Tracker, as compiled on September 2026.
Classification
This project on the site's facets
The same fields every project in the index carries. Not disclosed means the source publishes nothing for it; nothing is estimated.
- Place
- MakkahRolls up to: Saudi Arabia · GCC · MENA · Arab League · OPEC
- Sector
- AI and data centres
- Technology
- High-performance computing centres
- Stage
- OperationalIn the source's words: operational
- Announced
- Pre-feasibility
- Feasibility
- Front-end engineering design (FEED)
- Permitting
- Procurement
- Awarded
- Offtake signed
- Final investment decision
- Financial close
- Construction
- Commissioning
- Operational
- Expansion
- Decommissioned
- On hold, delayed or cancelled
- Not disclosed
- Commitment
- Not disclosed
- Reported
- Announced intent
- Memorandum or framework
- Joint development agreement or heads of agreement
- Contract (PPA, EPC or offtake)
- Final investment decision
- Financial close
- Programme
- Not disclosed
- Investment
- Not disclosed
- Capacity
- Not disclosedExcluded from public capacity figures
- Annual output
- Not disclosed
- Tariff or levelised cost
- Not disclosed
- Emissions
- Not disclosed
Milestones
| Milestone | Date | Planned or actual |
|---|---|---|
| Commercial operation date (COD) | 2024 | Actual |
Companies and bodies
- King Abdullah University of Science and TechnologyDeveloper
Where it comes from
- Dataset
- Saudi Data Centre Load Tracker
- Source type
- Company release
- Verification
- Not disclosed
- Last updated
- September 2026