What the source says
AMAALA
Battery of AMAALA's off-grid utility system, 700 MWh on the design basis the reports use, beside 250 MW of solar PV; full operation not verified.
Another source gives a different figure
- EDF's 2025 registration document reports 770 MWh for the same system; the reports keep the 700 MWh design basis (Red Sea Global and Masdar) and do not add the two.
- The report gives the utility's design and says full operation is not verified; the Saudi Renewables Tracker stages AMAALA's 250 MW of solar PV as under construction.
Renewable Vision report RV-SAU-SERIES03-20260912, page 1 · Renewable Vision report RV-SAU-RENEWABLES-GUIDE-20260912, page 1 · Renewable Vision report RV-SAU-RENEWABLES-GUIDE-20260912, page 12
Source: Saudi battery storage, as compiled on 27 September 2026.
Classification
This project on the site's facets
The same fields every project in the index carries. Not disclosed means the source publishes nothing for it; nothing is estimated.
- Place
- AMAALARolls up to: Tabuk · Saudi Arabia · GCC · MENA · Arab League
- Sector
- Energy storage
- Technology
- Battery storage
- Stage
- AwardedIn the source's words: contracted
- Announced
- Pre-feasibility
- Feasibility
- Front-end engineering design (FEED)
- Permitting
- Procurement
- Awarded
- Offtake signed
- Final investment decision
- Financial close
- Construction
- Commissioning
- Operational
- Expansion
- Decommissioned
- On hold, delayed or cancelled
- Not disclosed
- Commitment
- Contract (PPA, EPC or offtake)
- Reported
- Announced intent
- Memorandum or framework
- Joint development agreement or heads of agreement
- Contract (PPA, EPC or offtake)
- Final investment decision
- Financial close
- Programme
- Not disclosed
- Investment
- Not disclosed
- Capacity
- 700 MWh
- Annual output
- Not disclosed
- Tariff or levelised cost
- Not disclosed
- Emissions
- Not disclosed
Milestones
Not disclosed
Companies and bodies
- MasdarDeveloper
- EDF RenewablesDeveloper
Where it comes from
- Dataset
- Saudi battery storage
- Source type
- Company release · The source publication
- Verification
- Conflicting sources
- Last updated
- 27 September 2026