What the source says
Al Muwayh
Principal Buyer storage group 1: 500 MW / 2,000 MWh, four hours, build, own and operate; storage service agreement signed on 20 August 2026.
Renewable Vision report RV-SAU-SERIES03-20260912, page 3 · Renewable Vision report RV-SAU-RENEWABLES-GUIDE-20260912, page 10
Source: Saudi battery storage, as compiled on 27 September 2026.
Classification
This project on the site's facets
The same fields every project in the index carries. Not disclosed means the source publishes nothing for it; nothing is estimated.
- Place
- MakkahRolls up to: Saudi Arabia · GCC · MENA · Arab League · OPEC
- Sector
- Energy storage
- Technology
- Battery storage
- Stage
- AwardedIn the source's words: contracted
- Announced
- Pre-feasibility
- Feasibility
- Front-end engineering design (FEED)
- Permitting
- Procurement
- Awarded
- Offtake signed
- Final investment decision
- Financial close
- Construction
- Commissioning
- Operational
- Expansion
- Decommissioned
- On hold, delayed or cancelled
- Not disclosed
- Commitment
- Contract (PPA, EPC or offtake)
- Reported
- Announced intent
- Memorandum or framework
- Joint development agreement or heads of agreement
- Contract (PPA, EPC or offtake)
- Final investment decision
- Financial close
- Programme
- Principal Buyer battery storage, group 1
- Investment
- Not disclosed
- Capacity
- 2,000 MWhAlso stated: 500 MW
- Annual output
- Not disclosed
- Tariff or levelised cost
- Not disclosed
- Emissions
- Not disclosed
Milestones
Not disclosed
Companies and bodies
- Saudi EnergyDeveloper
- ACWA PowerDeveloper
- Al SharifDeveloper
- Saudi Power Procurement CompanyOfftaker
Where it comes from
- Dataset
- Saudi battery storage
- Source type
- Company release · The source publication
- Verification
- Not disclosed
- Last updated
- 27 September 2026